Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

With the Nash Ensemble and RCS Voices in concert in Glasgow. Glazunov: Idyll and Serenade. Shostakovich: String Quartet No 7. MacMillan: Cello Sonata No 2; Miserere.

Rounding off this week's celebration of chamber music by James MacMillan, the Nash Ensemble perform the composer's one-movement Second Cello Sonata alongside Shostakovich's equally succinct Seventh Quartet and Glazunov's serene Idyll and Serenade for Horn and Strings from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. Down the road at St Andrew's Cathedral Glasgow, the RCS Voices perform his penitential and evocative Miserere which draws much on the inspiration of Allegri's most famous work on this text.

Glazunov: Idyll and Serenade
Shostakovich: String Quartet No 7 in F sharp minor, Op 108
MacMillan: Cello Sonata No 2
MacMillan: Miserere

Nash Ensemble:
Richard Watkins, horn
Laura Samuel, violin
Annabelle Meare, violin
Scott Dickinson, viola
Adrian Brendel, cello
Alasdair Beatson, piano

RCS Voices
Tim Dean, conductor.

58 minutes

Last on

Fri 7 Apr 2017 13:00

Music Played

  • Alexander Glazunov

    Idyll and Serenade for Horn and Strings

    Ensemble: Nash Ensemble.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Quartet no. 7 in F sharp minor Op.108

    Ensemble: Nash Ensemble.
  • Sir James MacMillan

    Sonata for Cello and piano no. 2

    Ensemble: Nash Ensemble.
  • Sir James MacMillan

    Miserere for chorus

    Choir: RCS Voices. Conductor: Timothy Dean.