Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Musicians and producers Danger Mouse and Sam Cohen

Stuart Maconie presents solo and talks to musicians and producers Danger Mouse and Sam Cohen.

Stuart Maconie speaks to musicians Danger Mouse and Sam Cohen about the new album they've produced 'Resistance Radio' which features music inspired by the hit TV series The Man in The High Castle, which itself was inspired by the 1962 Philip K Dick novel of the same name. The novel is set in an alternative reality where the Axis powers, Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan, have won the Second World War. This album features covers of classic songs from the early 1960s by the likes of Sharon Van Etten, Karen O, Beck, The Shins, Angel Olsen , Kelis, Michael Kiwanuka, Norah Jones, Grandaddy and Kevin Morby as if they existed in that alternative reality. Danger Mouse has worked with an extraordinary number of different artists, as well as being one half of Broken Bells with James Mercer of The Shins, and one half of Gnarls Barkley with CeeLo Green. Sam Cohen is a Brooklyn based songwriter and multi-instrumentalist who founded the bands Apollo Sunshine and Yellowbirds.

Ingredients include The Chain, a full of flavour feature with over 6,000 songs in the mix. Could your pick be added next? And there's Tea Time Theme Time, guess what links three songs over a nice cup of tea and a scone if you're lucky. Plus all the latest goings-on in the world of Music News.

3 hours

Last on

Thu 6 Apr 2017 13:00

Music Played

  • The Icicle Works

    Love Is A Wonderful Colour

    • Beggars Banquet.
  • British Sea Power

    Keep On Trying (Sechs Freunde)

    • Caroline International.
  • Roots Manuva

    Witness (1 Hope)

    • Big Dada Music.
  • The Long Ryders

    I Had a Dream

    • Native Sons.
    • Zippo.
    • 011.
  • Depeche Mode

    Enjoy the Silence (6 Music Festival)

  • Battles

    Ice Cream

    • WARP.
  • !!!

    The One 2

    • Warp.
  • Honeyblood

    Babes Never Die

    • FatCat Records.
  • The Lemon Twigs

    Baby Baby

    • 4AD.
  • Rufus & Chaka Khan

    Once You Get Started

    • VIRGIN.
  • A Tribe Called Quest

    Dis Generation

    • We Got It From Here...Thank You 4 Your Service.
    • Epic.
  • Black Sabbath


  • Jakatta

    American Dream

  • Temples

    Shelter Song (6 Music Festival 2017, 25 Mar 2017)

  • The Moonlandingz

    The Strangle Of Anna (feat. Rebecca Taylor)

    • Transgressive Records..
  • The Beach Boys

    Good Vibrations

    • EMI.
  • Sharon Van Etten

    The End Of The World

  • Sam Cohen

    House Of The Rising Sun

  • The xx

    Say Something Loving

    • Young Turks.
  • Generation X

    Ready Steady Go

    • Castle.
  • Suede


  • Marika Hackman


    • Boyfriend.
    • AMF Records.
  • Wire

    Forever A Day

  • China Crisis

    African and White

    • Inevitable.
  • Hercules & Love Affair

    Controller (feat. Faris Badwan)

    • mr.intl.
  • DUDS

    Reward Indifference (6 Music Festival 2017)

  • Elbow

    Gentle Storm

    • Polydor.
  • Car Seat Headrest

    Unforgiving Girl (She's Not An)

    • Matador.
  • Nina Simone

    I'm Gonna Leave You

    • Wild Is The Wind / High Priestess Of Soul.
    • Universal Music (UK) Limited.
  • Laura Mvula

    That's Alright

    • RCA/Victor Records.


  • Thu 6 Apr 2017 13:00