Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Breaking Free: A Century of Russian Culture - Russian Revolutionaries. Vadym Kholodenko

Fiona Talkington presents Ukrainian pianist Vadym Kholodenko playing Russian music from before and after the Revolutions of 1917.

Rachmaninov: 3 Preludes from Op 32: No 1 in C major, No 2 in B flat minor, No 11 in B major
Medtner: 3 Fairy Tales: Op 9 No 2 in C major, Op 20 No 2 in B minor, Op 51 No 1 in D minor
Rachmaninov: Etudes Tableaux Op 33, Nos 2-4
Rachmaninov: Etudes Tableaux Op 39, Nos 6-9
Vadym Kholodenko (piano)

A century ago this week, Russia was convulsed by the second of two revolutions in a single year. (It's called the October Revolution because Russia still used an old calendar at that time.) To mark the anniversary, this Russian Revolutionaries series from LSO St Luke's in London features four pianists from Russia, Georgia and Ukraine delving into the riches of Russian piano music composed before, after and even during the momentous year of 1917 - by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Medtner, Prokofiev and Shostakovich. In today's concert Ukrainian pianist Vadym Kholodenko includes music Rachma.

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Fri 10 Nov 2017 13:00