Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Max Reinhardt with Geometry of Now Highlights

Max Reinhardt presents highlights from Moscow's 2017 Geometry of Now festival, featuring performances from Oren Ambarchi, Okkyung Lee, Stephen O'Malley, Jlin and RP Boo.

Max presents live music highlights from Moscow's Geometry of Now festival. The seven-day event, described as "an investigation of sound through site-specific interventions", took place in the former GES-2 power station in Moscow from 20-27 February 2017. It was curated by producer and visual artist Mark Fell and featured performances from the likes of Oren Ambarchi and Okkyung Lee (both of whom we'll hear from tonight), as well as Stephen O'Malley, Jlin and RP Boo.

Elsewhere tonight, featured composers include Gavin Bryars from England, Bryce Dessner from the USA, and Beto Villares from Brazil.

Produced by Jack Howson for Reduced Listening.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Bryce Dessner

    Music For Wood & Strings - Section 5

    Performer: So Percussion.
    • Music for Wood and Strings.
    • Brassland.
  • Firebeats Inc

    I Never Knew the Sun Could Shine So Brightly at Night

    • Firebeats, Inc..
    • Round 2.
  • Mahmoud Guinia

    Peace In Essaouira (For Sonny Sharrock) (feat. Pharoah Sanders)

    • The Trance of Seven Colors.
    • Axiom.
  • Gavin Bryars

    The Fifth Century - Section 5. Eternity Magnifies Our Joys Exceedingly

    Ensemble: The Crossing. Ensemble: PRISM Quartet. Conductor: Donald Nally.
    • The Fifth Century.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
  • Baluji Shrivastav

    Dhun Bhairvi

    • Best Of Baluji Shrivastav.
    • Arc Music.
  • Ryoko Akama & Boris Shershenkov

    Ryoko Akama / Boris Shershenkov live at Geometry Of Now, Moscow (24/02/17)

  • Okkyung Lee & Oren Ambarchi

    Okkyung Lee / Oren Ambarchi live at Geometry Of Now, Moscow (23/02/17)

  • Jenny Berger Myhre

    Speak Softly

    • Lint.
    • The Lumen Lake /Canigou Records.
  • Devonanon


    • City of All Times.
    • Kit Records.
  • Donnacha Dennehy

    Junk Box Fraud

    Ensemble: Crash Ensemble.
    • Donnacha Dennehy: Elastic Harmonic.
    • NMC.
  • Kel Assouf


    • Tikounen.
    • Zephyrus Records.
  • Beto Villares


    • Self-released.


Late Junction Albums of the Year 2018

Late Junction Albums of the Year 2018

Radio 3's adventurous music obsessives pick their records of the year.

Is the synth the ultimate feminist instrument?

Is the synth the ultimate feminist instrument?

Five pioneering women and the technology they made their own...