Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Music from Christian Ihle Hadland (piano) and friends. Beethoven: Twelve Variations on See the Conqu'ring Hero Comes from Handel's Judas Maccabaeus. Shostakovich: Viola Sonata.

A second chance to hear Christian Ihle Hadland and friends in their Radio 3 Big Chamber Weekend at Saffron Hall. Today they play chamber music by Beethoven and Shostakovich. Presented by Sara Mohr-Pietsch.

Beethoven: 12 Variations for cello and piano on "See the conqu'ring hero comes" from Handel's "Judas Maccabaeus", WoO45
Shostakovich: Sonata for viola and piano, Op 147

Lars Anders Tomter (viola),
Adrian Brendel (cello),
Christian Ihle Hadland (piano).

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    12 Variations on 'See the conqu'ring hero' from Handel's Judas Maccabeus, WoO.45

    Performer: Adrian Brendel. Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Sonata for viola and piano, Op. 147

    Performer: Lars Anders Tomter. Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Holberg suite (Op.40) vers. for piano: Sarabande (second movement)

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland.
    • SIMAX.