Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Falla, Debussy, Faure

Music from the Martha Argerich Project 2016. Falla: Two Spanish Dances (La vida breve). Debussy: Minstrels (Preludes); Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune. Faure: Piano Quintet.

Fiona Talkington presents highlights from the Martha Argerich Project 2016.
The legendary Argentinian pianist, Martha Argerich hosts this festival in Lugano in which she features old friends and new talents and nurtures the next generation of chamber musicians.

Falla: Two Spanish Dances from La Vida breve
Sergio Tiempo and Karin Lechner (pianos)

Debussy: Minstrels, from Preludes, Book I
Mischa Maisky (cello), Lily Maisky (piano)

Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (vers. for two pianos)
Stephen Kovacevich and Martha Argerich (pianos)

Fauré: Piano Quintet in C minor, op. 115
Alexander Gurning (piano), Dora Schwarzberg (violin), Alissa Margulis (violin), Nora Romanoff (viola), Jinh Zhao (cello)

Saint-Saëns: Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix, from 'Samson et Dalila'
Mischa Maisky (cello), Lily Maisky (piano)

Photo of Martha Argerich (c) Adriano Heitmann/Immagina.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Manuel de Falla

    La Vida Breve (2 Danses Espagnoles), arr misc. for piano duet

    Performer: Sergio Tiempo. Performer: Karin Lechner.
  • Claude Debussy

    Minstrels [Preludes, Bk.1] arr. Maisky [orig for piano]

    Performer: Mischa Maisky. Performer: Lily Maisky.
  • Claude Debussy

    Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune

    Performer: Stephen Kovacevich. Performer: Martha Argerich.
  • Gabriel Fauré

    Piano Quintet No.2 in C Minor Op.115

    Performer: Alexander Gurning. Performer: Dora Schwarzberg. Performer: Alissa Margulis. Performer: Nora Romanoff-Schwarzberg. Performer: Jinh Zhao.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix from the opera Samson Et Dalila

    Performer: Mischa Maisky. Performer: Lily Maisky.