Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Wigmore Hall Mondays - Miklos Perenyi

From Wigmore Hall, London, Sara Mohr-Pietsch presents a solo performance by cellist Miklos Perenyi. Bach: Cello Suite No 2 in D minor, BWV1008. Kodaly: Cello Sonata, Op 8.

From Wigmore Hall, London.

Introduced by Sara Mohr-Pietsch

Bach: Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV.1008
Kodaly: Sonata for Solo Cello Op. 8

The expressive eloquence and extraordinary tonal refinement of cellist Miklos Perenyi's playing have opened hearts and minds to the infinite spiritual dimensions of the works in his broad repertoire.

The Hungarian musician, born in Budapest in 1948, completed his studies with lessons from Pablo Casals and is recognised among today's greatest cellists. He presents the second of Bach's Cello Suites in tandem with a composition that matches it in intensity and invention, Kodaly's Sonata for solo cello.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Suite No 2 In D minor, BWV1008

    Performer: Miklós Perényi.
  • Zoltán Kodály

    Sonata, Op 8

    Performer: Miklós Perényi.


  • Mon 19 Dec 2016 13:00
  • Christmas Day 2016 13:00