Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 3

Fiona Talkington presents music from the 2016 Salzburg Mozartwoche. Mendelssohn: String Symphony No 8; Psalm 42; Symphony No 3. Mozart: Piano Concerto No 1. Haydn: Symphony No 44.

Penny Gore introduces highlights from the Salzburg Mozartwoche festival featuring music by Mendelssohn and Haydn performed by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Pablo Heras-Casado and Semyon Bychkov.

Felix Mendelssohn
String Symphony No. 8 in D
Camerata Salzburg
Gregory Ahss (conductor)

W.A. Mozart
Piano Concerto No. 1 in F, K. 37
Fazil Say (piano)
Camerata Salzburg
Gregory Ahss (conductor)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphony No. 44 in E minor, Hob. I:44 ('Mourning')
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Semyon Bychkov (conductor)

Felix Mendelssohn
Psalm 42: Wie der Hirsch schreit, op. 42
Dorothea Röschmann (soprano)
Arnold Schoenberg Chorus
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Pablo Heras-Casado (conductor)

Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony No. 3 in A minor, op. 56 ('Scottish')
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Pablo Heras-Casado (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 2 Dec 2016 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Symphony no. 8 in D major for string orchestra

    Orchestra: Camerata Salzburg. Conductor: Gregory Ahss.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Piano Concerto no. 1 in F major K.37

    Performer: Fazil Say. Orchestra: Camerata Salzburg. Conductor: Gregory Ahss.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Symphony no. 44 in E minor H.1.44 (Trauer)

    Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Semyon Bychkov.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Psalm 42 (Wie der Hirsch schreit) Op.42

    Singer: Dorothea Röschmann. Choir: Arnold Schönberg Chor.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Symphony no. 3 in A minor Op.56 (Scottish)

    Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic. Conductor: Pablo Heras‐Casado.
  • Heitor Villa‐Lobos

    12 Studies for guitar; no. 11 in E minor

    Performer: Sean Shibe.