Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Concerto Koln - Handel

Elin Manahan Thomas presents a concert given by Concerto Koln, featuring Handel's The King Shall Rejoice plus excerpts from his fiery oratorio Hercules. With mezzo Ann Hallenberg.

Elin Manahan Thomas introduces a concert given by Concerto Köln of Handel's 'The King Shall Rejoice' plus extracts from his fiery oratorio 'Hercules'

Handel: The King Shall Rejoice
Concerto Köln
Olof Boman (conductor)

Handel: 'Hercules' (excerpts)
Recitative- O Hercules why art thou absent from me Aria
The world when day's career is run
Act II - Sinfonia
Recitative - Welcome the rising day!
Aria - Begone my fears fly hence away
Chorus - Crown with festal pomp the day
Act III - Sinfonia
Aria - Cease, ruler of the day to rise
Chorus - Jealousy! Infernal pest!
Scene - Where shall I fly?
Ann Hallenberg (mezzo-soprano)
Annika Hudak (contralto)
Niklas Engquist (tenor)
Swedish Radio Chorus
Concerto Köln
Olof Boman (conductor).

1 hour

Music Played

  • George Frideric Handel

    The King shall rejoice - coronation anthem no. 3 HWV.260

    Performer: Concerto Köln. Conductor: Olof Boman.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Hercules: excerpts

    Performer: Concerto Köln. Performer: Radiokören. Performer: Olof Boman. Singer: Ann Hallenberg. Singer: Annika Hudak. Singer: Niklas Engquist.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Das Wohltemperierte Klavier: Prelude and fugue no. 7 in E flat major BWV 876

    Performer: Mahan Esfahani.