Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Haydn, Ravel, Tippett

Live from City Halls, Glasgow, Martyn Brabbins conducts the BBC SSO. Haydn: Symphony No 6. Ravel: Piano Concerto in G (soloist: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet). Tippett: Symphony No 1.

Martyn Brabbins and the BBC SSO perform Tippett's Symphony No 1, Haydn's Symphony No 6, and are joined by Jean-Efflam Bavouzet for Ravel's G major Piano Concerto.

Live from City Halls, Glasgow
Presented by Andrew McGregor

Haydn: Symphony No 6 'Le Matin'
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major

8.20 Interval:

Tippett: Symphony No 1

Michael Tippett - a unique voice in 20th-century music - wrote four symphonies, and this evening the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra begins a performance cycle of them all, under the baton of Martyn Brabbins, a leading interpreter of British and 20th-century composers. Tippett's First Symphony launches the cycle with what will become trademarks: uncompromising invention, rhythmic momentum and bold, clear colours. And the elegance of this composition is reflected in the earlier music of Josef Haydn, in his svelte 6th Symphony which opens the concert.

These two works sandwich an altogether different palette of ravishing orchestral colours, although with the same precise ear for crafting musical textures. For Ravel's G major Piano Concerto, with its shimmering surfaces and jazz-inflected rhythms, the orchestra is joined by French virtuoso Jean-Efflam Bavouzet.

2 hours, 25 minutes

Music Played

  • Joseph Haydn

    Symphony No. 6 (Le Matin)

    Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Piano Concerto in G

  • Michael Tippett

    Interval String Quartet No 3

  • Michael Tippett, Stephen Cleobury & BBC Singers

    5 Spirituals from A Child of our Time

  • Michael Tippett

    1st Symphony

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Contrapunctus 6, a 4 im stile francese [from 'The Art of Fugue']

    Ensemble: Armida Quartett.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.