Main content
This programme is not currently available on BBC iPlayer

Boy George's 1970s: Save Me From Suburbia

British popstar Boy George assesses how the 1970s moulded the person and artist he has become. The 1970s were his musical, social and sexual coming of age.

British popstar Boy George recalls, revisits and assesses how the 1970s moulded the person and artist he has become. This is his musical, social and sexual coming of age, when he discovered the power of his own sexuality before setting about turning that persona into a popstar. Set against a backdrop of social discord, disenfranchisement and sexual repression, the 70s was also conversely the decade that revelled in colour and creative chaos, giving the world glam rock, disco and punk, and the young George O'Dowd was at the birth of them all. The documentary includes contributions from contemporaries like Martin Degville (Sigue Sigue Sputnik), Andy Polaris (Animal Nightlife), DJ Princess Julia and popstar Marilyn.

Boy George says: 'I think of the 70s as being this glorious decade where I discovered who I was and discovered all these amazing things - punk rock, electro music, fashion, all of that. And yeah of course there was that dark side to the 70s, the rubbish, the strikes, the poverty, and I'd get chased and confronted for the way I looked. But I was a teenager. I didn't have any time for misery. I was just having a great time with my friends.'.

59 minutes

Last on

Sat 10 Nov 2018 02:35

Music Played

Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes

  • 00:01


    Cum On Feel The Noize

  • 00:01

    The Sweet

    Block Buster!

  • 00:03

    T. Rex

    Twentieth Century Boy

  • 00:03

    T. Rex

    Twentieth Century Boy

  • 00:21

    The Velvet Underground

    Sunday Morning

  • 00:27


    Why Can't I Touch It?

  • 00:29

    Lou Reed

    Walk On The Wild Side

  • 00:32

    Throbbing Gristle

    Hot On The Heels Of Love

  • 00:43

    The Stooges

    I Wanna Be Your Dog

  • 00:45

    Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark


  • 00:45

    Roxy Music

    Love Is The Drug (1999 Digital Remaster)

  • 00:51


    The Robots

  • 00:57

    Culture Club

    Do You Really Want To Hurt Me

  • 00:59

    T. Rex

    Twentieth Century Boy

  • 00:59

    T. Rex

    20th Century Boy


Role Contributor
Presenter Boy George
Interviewed Guest Nicola Tyson
Interviewed Guest Andy Polaris
Interviewed Guest Philip Sallon
Interviewed Guest Princess Julia
Interviewed Guest Rusty Egan
Interviewed Guest Caryn Franklin
Interviewed Guest Marilyn
Interviewed Guest Jon Savage
Interviewed Guest Martin Degville
Producer Ian Denver
Director Ian Denver
Executive Producer Paul Murray
Executive Producer Emma Cahusac
Production Company IWC Media


Featured in...