Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 48: Pintscher, Mendelssohn

BBC SSO conducted by Matthias Pintscher. Pintscher: Reflections on Narcissus (with Alisa Weilerstein: cello). Mendelssohn: Overture and Incidental Music (A Midsummer Night's Dream).

Afternoon on 3 - with Penny Gore

Another chance to hear the BBC SSO perform Matthias Pintscher's Reflections on Narcissus with cellist Alisa Weilerstein plus music from Mendelssohn's A Midsummer Night's Dream

Presented by Ian Skelly at the Royal Albert Hall, London

Matthias Pintscher: Reflections on Narcissus
Alisa Weilerstein (cello)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Matthias Pintscher (conductor)

Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream - Overture and Incidental Music, Op 61
Bottom ..... Mark Benton
Oberon/Theseus ..... Alex Hassell
Puck ..... Simon Manyonda
Hermia/Fairy/Mistress Quince ..... Sinead Matthews
Lysander/Snout/Philostrate ..... Sam Swann
Titania/Hippolyta ..... Michelle Terry
Bijan Sheibani (stage director)

Katherine Broderick (soprano)
Clara Mouriz (mezzo-soprano)
Finchley Children's Music Group
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Matthias Pintscher (conductor)

Narcissus, the Thespian hunter who fell in love with his own image, inspired Matthias Pintscher to compose his own reflection on 'the interaction of different groups and their mirror images', a work for cello and orchestra. Pintscher conducts Reflections on Narcissus here before a semi-staged performance of Mendelssohn's incidental music to A Midsummer Night's Dream.
Mendelssohn's delicate, mercurial and strident music is interspersed with excerpts from Shakespeare's text to form a centrepiece of this season's celebrations of Shakespeare's 400th anniversary.

[First broadcast on Sunday 21st August]

Followed by a selection of recordings from this week's Proms Artists.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Matthias Pintscher

    Reflections on Narcissus

    Performer: Alisa Weilerstein. Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    A Midsummer Night's Dream

    Singer: Katherine Broderick. Singer: Clara Mouriz. Choir: Finchley Childrens Music Group. Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Matthias Pintscher.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Concerto no.2 in B flat major, Op.19

    Performer: Jonathan Biss. Orchestra: Ulster Orchestra. Conductor: Rafael Payare.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra