Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 23: Widmann, Schumann, Sibelius and Nielsen

From Proms 2016, John Storgards conducts the BBC Philharmonic. Jorg Widmann: Armonica. Schumann: Violin Concerto. Sibelius: Prelude (The Tempest). Nielsen: Symphony No 5.

Afternoon on 3, presented by Penny Gore

Another chance to hear John Storgards conduct the BBC Philharmonic at the BBC Proms in the UK premiere of Jörg Widmann's Armonica and Nielsen Symphony No. 5. They're joined by soloist Thomas Zehetmair for Schumann's Violin Concerto.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London
Presented by Tom Redmond

Jörg Widmann: Armonica (UK premiere)

Schumann: Violin Concerto in D minor

Sibelius: The Tempest - Prelude

Nielsen: Symphony No.5

Christa Schönfeldinger (glass harmonica)
Teodoro Anzellotti (accordion)
Thomas Zehetmair (violin)
BBC Philharmonic
John Storgards (conductor)

John Storgards was the first Finnish violinist to record Schumann's unusual Violin Concerto, but he now steps to the podium, making way for Austrian violinist Thomas Zehetmair. Surrounding Schumann's gem of a concerto are the first UK performance of Jörg Widmann's ethereal Armonia, the storm-tossed prelude from Sibelius's eerie depiction of Shakespeare's island realm and Carl Nielsen's landmark symphonic vision of good's triumph over evil.

[First broadcast on Monday 1st August]

Followed by a selection of recordings from this week's Proms Artists.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Jörg Widmann


    Performer: Christa Schönfeldinger. Performer: Teodoro Anzellotti. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John Storgårds.
  • Robert Schumann

    Violin Concerto in D minor

    Performer: Thomas Zehetmair. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John Storgårds.
  • Jean Sibelius

    The Tempest – Prelude

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John Storgårds.
  • Carl Nielsen

    Symphony No. 5

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John Storgårds.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 2 (Op.102) in F major

    Performer: Yefim Bronfman. Orchestra: Los Angeles Philharmonic. Conductor: Esa‐Pekka Salonen.
    • Shostakovich: Concertos nos.1&2: Bronfman/Juilliard String Quartet/Salonen.
    • Sony Classical.
    • 5-7.
  • Joaquín Turina

    Five Danzas gitanas

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Juanjo Mena.
    • CHANDOS.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic