Main content

Stravinsky, Mendelssohn and Schwertsik from the 2016 Cheltenham Music Festival

Chamber music from 2016's Cheltenham Music Festival, today featuring works by Stravinsky and Mendelssohn, along with a premiere performance of music by Kurt Schwertsik.

Another chance to hear our week of Lunchtime Concerts from the Cheltenham Music Festival in 2016, performed by BBC New Generation Artists the Quatuor Van Kuijk and the Armida Quartet, along with the clarinettist Annelien van Wauwe, and the cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan. Today's concert features Stravinsky's Three Pieces for solo clarinet, the premiere of Eine Windrose für Mauricio for solo cello by Kurt Schwertsik, along with Mendelssohn's Octet in E flat major, all performed in the historic setting of the Pittville Pump Room.

Igor Stravinsky
Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo
Annelien van Wauwe, clarinet

Kurt Schwertsik
Eine Windrose für Mauricio, Op 115 (premiere)
Narek Hakhnazaryan, cello

Felix Mendelssohn
Octet in E flat major, Op 20
Quatuor Van Kuijk:
Nicholas van Kuijk, violin
Sylvain Favre-Bulle, violin
Grégoire Vecchioni, viola
François Robin, cello
Armida Quartet:
Martin Funda, violin
Johanna Staemmler, violin
Teresa Schwamm, viola
Peter-Philipp Staemmler, cello

Produced by Luke Whitlock

20 days left to listen

55 minutes

Last on

Fri 3 Jul 2020 13:00

Music Played

  • Igor Stravinsky

    3 Pieces for clarinet solo

    Performer: Annelien Van Wauwe.
  • Kurt Schwertsik

    A Windrose for Mauricio for solo cello

    Performer: Narek Hakhnazaryan.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Octet in E flat, Op 20

    Ensemble: Armida Quartett. Ensemble: Van Kuijk Quartet.


  • Fri 22 Jul 2016 13:00
  • Fri 3 Jul 2020 13:00