Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Orchestra and Oliver Knussen at the Aldeburgh Festival

Live from Snape Maltings Concert Hall, BBC SO under Oliver Knussen. With premieres of works by Charlotte Bray and Gary Carpenter, plus pieces by Bach and Berg and Elliott Carter.

The BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Oliver Knussen live from Snape Maltings Concert Hall during the Aldeburgh Festival. With world premieres of works by Charlotte Bray and Gary Carpenter, plus works by Bach, Berg, Butterworth and Elliott Carter.

Presented by Christopher Cook

Bach (orch. Elgar): Fantasia and Fugue in C minor (BWV.537)
Butterworth: A Shropshire Lad
Gary Carpenter: Willie Stock (world premiere)

c. 8.20pm
Interval: Suffolk-inspired folksong with works by Moeran, Elizabeth Poston and Thomas Vautor, plus folk music from the singing pubs along Aldeburgh's coastline, and fiddle player Harkie Nesling.

c. 8.40pm
Carter: Sound Fields
Charlotte Bray: Stone Dancer (world premiere)
Berg: Three Pieces for Orchestra, Op. 6

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Oliver Knussen (conductor)

It's almost impossible to listen to Butterworth and Berg without our knowledge of things to come. Is the Englishman's dreamily alluring orchestral rhapsody of 1912 an eerie foreboding of his own death in World War I? Is the shrill, titanic tussle of of the march which concludes Berg's Three pieces for Orchestra, written 1913-15, a premonition of the impending cataclysm? There are other influences - the poignancy of A.E. Housman's elegiac poems, the unmistakable imprint of Mahler on Berg's giant canvas. And the imaginative use of the orchestra - as shared by Elgar orchestrating Bach, Charlotte Bray, and Gary Carpenter.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Bach Arr Elgar

    Passacaglia & Fugue in C Minor

  • Butterworth

    A Shropshire Lad

  • Gary Carpenter

    Willie Stock for Orchestra

  • Ernest John Moeran

    Nutting Time from Six Suffolk Folksongs

    Performer: John Talbot. Singer: Marcus Farnsworth.
  • Anonymous

    The Nutting Girl

    Performer: Harold Covill.
  • Thomas Vautor

    Sweet Suffolk Owl

    Choir: The Hilliard Ensemble.
  • Anonymous

    Barn Dance Tune

    Performer: Percy Brown.
  • Anonymous

    Yarmouth Hornpipe

    Performer: Billy Bennington.
  • Nestling

    Stepdance Tune

    Performer: Fred Whiting.
  • Ernest John Moeran

    A Seaman's Life

    Performer: John Talbot. Singer: Marcus Farnsworth.
  • Anonymous

    Nancy from Yarmouth

    Performer: Fred Linge.
  • Charlotte Bray

    Stone Dancer

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Oliver Knussen.
  • Alban Berg

    Three Pieces for Orchestra

    Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Orchestra: Yeree Suh. Orchestra: Matthias Pintscher.
  • Claude Debussy

    En blanc et noir

    Performer: Martha Argerich. Performer: Stephen Kovacevich.
    • Philips.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Chansons madecasses for voice, flute, cello and piano

    Singer: Jessye Norman. Ensemble: Members of the Ensemble InterContemporain. Conductor: Pierre Boulez.
    • CBS Masterworks.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


Featured in...

The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.