Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Northern Sinfonia - Sibelius, Mozart

Live at Sage Gateshead, Lars Vogt conducts the Royal Northern Sinfonia. Sibelius: Symphony No 7. Mozart: Requiem (with soprano Ruby Hughes and mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnston).

Royal Northern Sinfonia, conducted by Lars Vogt, perform Sibelius's Seventh Symphony and Mozart's Requiem.
Live from Sage Gateshead.

Sibelius: Symphony No.7
8.00: Interval
8.20: Mozart: Requiem

Ruby Hughes, soprano
Jennifer Johnston, mezzo
Benjamin Hulett, tenor
Neal Davies, bass
Chorus of Royal Northern Sinfonia
Royal Northern Sinfonia
Lars Vogt, conductor

The two journeys pursued by the Royal Northern Sinfonia over the past season, Sibelius and the Musical North and Reclaiming Mozart, come to a conclusion as Lars Vogt conducts Sibelius's last and most condensed symphony, and Mozart's final choral masterpiece.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Sibelius

    Symphony No 7

    Orchestra: Royal Norhern Sinfonia. Conductor: Lars Vogt.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Requiem in D minor K 626

    Conductor: Lars Vogt. Choir: Chorus of Royal Northern Sinfonia.

    Sonata in A major D.959

    Performer: Daniel Barenboim (piano).


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.