Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

LSO - Shostakovich, Mahler

Antonio Pappano conducts the London Symphony Orchestra in a live concert from the Barbican. Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No 1 (soloist: Viktoria Mullova). Mahler: Symphony No 6.

Sir Antonio Pappano conducts Mahler's 6th Symphony with the LSO.
Live from the Barbican, London
Presented by Martin Handley

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No 1

8.15: Interval

Mahler: Symphony No 6

Viktoria Mullova, violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Antonio Pappano, conductor

Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No 1, composed during a time of personal and political unrest, it is widely considered to be one of the most significant contributions to the violin repertoire of the twentieth century. Mahler's Symphony No 6 is popularly known as the composer's 'Tragic' symphony, its final movement is punctuated by three devastating 'hammer-blows' that represent the inescapable force of fate.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 19 May 2016 19:30

Music Played

  • Alexander Scriabin

    Etude in F sharp major

    Performer: Vitaly Samoshko.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Violin Concerto No.1 in A Minor, Op.77

    Performer: Viktoria Mullova. Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit BWV 106 Actus tragicus

    Choir: Monteverdi Choir. Ensemble: English Baroque Soloists. Conductor: Sir John Eliot Gardiner.
    • ARCHIV.
  • Gustav Mahler

    Symphony No.6

    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Antonio Pappano.


  • Thu 19 May 2016 19:30

The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.