Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Sibelius, Schumann, Tchaikovsky

Royal Philharmonic and Thomas Dausgaard live at the Royal Festival Hall. Sibelius: Symphony No 7. Schumann: Piano Concerto (with Khatia Buniatishvili). Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 4.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall: Khatia Buniatishvili plays Schumann's Piano Concerto with the RPO conducted by Thomas Dausgaard. Also on the programme: Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony.

Sibelius: Symphony No.7 in C
Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor

8.30: Interval:
BBC Young Musician 2016
Clemency Burton-Hill introduces the second of the finalists in this year's strings category.
Cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason plays music by Cassadó, Rachmaninov and Shostakovich

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.4 in F minor

Khatia Buniatishvili, piano
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard conductor

Tonight's concert features two masterworks from the symphonic repertoire: it opens with Sibelius's single-movement Seventh Symphony, music in which conductor Thomas Dausgaard has been hailed by the New York Times for finding 'broody suppressed passion'. Tchaikovsky's mighty Fourth Symphony, the so-called 'Fate' symphony, concludes the concert, taking us on a journey from darkness to jubilation.
Between these two symphonies, the soloist in Schumann's romantic Piano Concerto is Georgian pianist Khatia Buniatishvili, a player praised by Martha Argerich as 'a young pianist of extraordinary talent'.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Gaspar Cassadó

    Solo suite for cello, 3rd movt

    Performer: Sheku Kanneh-Mason.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Morceaux de Fantaisie, op 3 Elegie

    Performer: Sheku Kanneh-Mason.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Cello Sonata, 2nd movt

    Performer: Sheku Kanneh-Mason.
  • William Lawes

    Royal Consort Sett No 3 in D minor

    Ensemble: Phantasm.
    • LINN.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.