Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Northern Sinfonia - Smetana, Mozart, Dvorak

Live from Sage Gateshead, Royal Northern Sinfonia under Lars Vogt. Smetana: The Bartered Bride Overture. Mozart: Symphony No 38. Dvorak: Cello Concerto (with Tanja Tetzlaff).

Lars Vogt and the Royal Northern Sinfonia perform Mozart's Symphony No.38 and Smetana's Bartered Bride Overture, plus Tanja Tetzlaff performs Dvorak's Cello Concerto in B minor.

Live from Sage Gateshead
Presented by Adam Tomlinson

Lars Vogt conductor
Tanja Tetzlaff cello
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Smetana: The Bartered Bride Overture
Mozart: Symphony No.38 'Prague'

8.15 Interval: BBC Young Musician 2016
Clemency Burton-Hill introduces the fifth of the category finalists in this year's brass competition.
Sam Dye plays music by Folke Rabe, Debussy and Ropartz.

Dvorak: Cello Concerto

Mozart's symphony revels in his lifelong love affair with the Czech capital, with its intense radiance and lively animation. Dvorak's concerto reveals a homesickness for Prague and the bohemian style, so much so that it was composed on both sides of the Atlantic as he made his return home.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Bedrich Smetana

    The Bartered Bride Overture

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Symphony No.38 'Prague'

    Conductor: Iván Fischer. Orchestra: Budapest Festival Orchestra.
  • Folke Rabe

    Basta For Trombone Solo

    Performer: Sam Dye.
  • Joseph Guy Ropartz

    Piece In E Flat Minor For Trombone And Piano

    Performer: Sam Dye.
  • Claude Debussy

    Romance For Viola And Piano

    Performer: Sam Dye.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Cello Concerto

    Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Giancarlo Guerrero.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Bassoon Concerto in C, RV 473

    Performer: Sergio Azzolini, L'Onda Armonica.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Trio Sonata in B flat, HWV 50a ("Esther")

    Performer: Brook Street Band.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.