Main content

The Wake

Episode 6 of 6

The group take Andy to his mother's wake. He wants leave promptly - but it’s not that simple. Stars Eddie Marsan. From 2016.

Second series of the award-nominated comedy drama set in Alcoholics Anonymous, written by Pete Jackson and inspired by his own road to recovery. Stars Sue Johnston, John Hannah, Eddie Marsan, Rebecca Front, Paul Kaye and Julia Deakin.

Love in Recovery follows the lives of five very different recovering alcoholics. Taking place entirely at their weekly meetings, we hear them moan, argue, laugh, fall apart, fall in love and - most importantly - tell their stories.

In this final episode of the series, the group leave their meeting room to take Andy (Eddie Marsan) to his mum's wake. Andy hasn't seen the rest of his family in a long time and he's nervous, anxious and a little angry. He just wants to say goodbye to his mum and leave. But it's not as simple as that.

Writer Pete Jackson is a recovering alcoholic and has spent time in Alcoholics Anonymous. It was there he found support from the unlikeliest group of disparate souls - with one common bond. As well as offering the support he needed throughout a difficult time, AA also offered a weekly, sometimes daily, dose of hilarity, upset, heartbreak and friendship.

There are lots of different kinds of AA meetings. Love in Recovery is about meetings where people tell their stories. There are funny stories, sad stories, stories of small victories and milestones, stories of loss, stories of hope, and those stories that you really shouldn't laugh at - but still do, along with the storyteller.

Written and created by Pete Jackson
Producer/Director: Ben Worsfield

A Lucky Giant production for BBC Radio 4.

18 days left to listen

30 minutes

Last on

Fri 27 Mar 2020 23:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Love in Recovery


Role Contributor
Maeve Rachel Atkins
Marion Julia Deakin
Fiona Rebecca Front
Simon John Hannah
Nora Moira Jackson
Bloke in Car Pete Jackson
Julie Sue Johnston
Danno Paul Kaye
Geoff Bill Kilshaw
Conor Gary Lilburn
Andy Eddie Marsan
Writer Pete Jackson
Producer Ben Worsfield
Director Ben Worsfield