Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Juliet Stevenson reads Juliet Nicolson's memoir of seven generations of women in her family, including her great-great-grandmother Pepita and her grandmother Vita Sackville West.

Juliet Stevenson reads Juliet Nicolson's journey through seven generations of women, including her Flamenco dancing great great grandmother Pepita, her grandmother Vita Sackville West and her mother Philippa - all of whom have shaped and formed, in extraordinary ways, exactly who she has become today.

We journey through the slums of 19th century Malaga to the political elite of Washington, from English boarding schools during the second world war, to London in the 60s and New York in the 80s.

It is one woman's investigation into how her past forms and informs her future.

A Pier production for BBC Radio 4.

15 minutes

Last on

Tue 19 Apr 2016 00:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Book of the Week


Role Contributor
Reader Juliet Stevenson
Author Juliet Nicolson


Audio Books

Audio Books

Exceptional books and readings.

Short stories to keep

Short stories to keep

The fiction podcast featuring the best stories from the UK's finest writers

Sample our books and authors Clip Collection

Sample our books and authors Clip Collection

Interviews, previews and reviews

Books website

Books website

Get closer to books with in-depth articles and radio & TV highlights.