Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Armonico Consort, Waldemar Januszczak, Clark Rundell, Ji Liu

With Sean Rafferty. Includes live music from the Armonico Consort and pianist Ji Liu, as well as interviews with conductor Clark Rundell and Waldemar Januszczak.

Sean Rafferty with a lively mix of music, chat, and arts news. The Armonico Consort perform Purcell and Pergolesi live in the studio ahead of a UK-wide tour. Conductor Clark Rundell talks about conducting the BBC Symphony Orchestra at London's Barbican Centre as part of the Andriessen Total Immersion weekend. Art critic Waldemar Januszczak chats about his new BBC Four series, The Renaissance Unchained. Plus, live performance from pianist Ji Liu as he prepares for his concert with the Mozart Festival Orchestra at the Royal Festival Hall.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Trad.

    Lisa Lan

    Music Arranger: Geoffrey Webber. Ensemble: Armonico Consort.
    • Armonico Consort.
  • Percy Grainger

    Molly on the Shore

    Ensemble: Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra. Conductor: Clark Rundell.
    • Grainger: Works for Wind Orchestra Vol.4: Royal Northern College of Music Wind O.
    • Chandos.
    • 8.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    A Midsummer Night's Dream (Scherzo)

    Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Conductor: George Szell.
    • Mendelssohn: A Midsummer night's dream: Szell.
    • Philips.
    • 5.
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold

    Violin Concerto in D major, Op 35 (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Vilde Frang. Orchestra: Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: James Gaffigan.
    • Warner.
  • Josquin des Prez

    El grillo

    Choir: The Hilliard Ensemble.
    • EMI.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    Circus Polka

    Ensemble: Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra. Conductor: Clark Rundell.
    • Chandos.
  • Louis Andriessen

    M is for Man, Music, Mozart - Instrumental 1

    Orchestra: Orkest de Volharding. Conductor: Jurjen Hempel.
    • Nonesuch.
  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Euryanthe (Overture)

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Herbert von Karajan.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
  • Joseph Haydn

    String quartet op. 20 no. 5: 4th movement

    Ensemble: Escher Quartet.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios