Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Debussy, Anders Hillborg, Ravel

Live from the Barbican, BBC SO under Sakari Oramo. Debussy: Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune; C'est l'extase. Hillborg: The Strand Settings. Ravel: Daphnis et Chloe Suite No 2.

Live from the Barbican. Soprano Renée Fleming joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra and conductor Sakari Oramo. Works by Debussy, Anders Hillborg and Ravel.

Presented by Sara Mohr-Pietsch.

Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Debussy, Arr. Robin Holloway: C'est l'extase - 10 settings of Paul Verlaine (UK Premiere)

Interval: Germaine Tailleferre's Partita (Hommage a Rameau)

Anders Hillborg: The Strand Settings (UK Premiere)
Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé - suite no. 2

Renée Fleming soprano
BBC Singers
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo conductor

An evening of intoxicating sonorities starring one of the world's most celebrated sopranos, Renée Fleming. Two ballets; Debussy's sensual sylvan evocation and Ravel's Daphnis and Chloe, frame two works for soprano and orchestra. Robin Holloway's luminous arrangement of the composer's Verlaine settings, C'est l'extase, was hailed as 'a revelatory exploration of Debussy's musical style' at its premiere. Anders Hillborg's bewitching Strand Settings, expressly composed for Fleming in 2013, delve into the nocturnal world of the sea and secret desire: 'At once atmospheric, elegiac and unsettling' (New York Times).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Claude Debussy

    Prelude a l apres-midi d un faune

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Claude Debussy

    C-est l-extase-ten settings of Paul Verlaine

    Performer: Renée Fleming. Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra.
  • Anders Hillborg

    The Strand Settings

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Daphnis et Chloe: Suite No 2

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Choir: BBC Singers.
  • Philip Harper

    Cornet Concerto

    Conductor: Philip Harper. Ensemble: Cory Band.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Pavane pour une infante defunte arr. for flute and harp [orig. piano]

    Performer: Wolfgang Schulz. Performer: Margit-Anna Süß. Music Arranger: Maganini, Quinto. Ensemble: Ensemble Wien-Berlin.
    • Ravel/Debussy: Sonata/Pavane/Chansons de Bilitis: Ensemble Wien-Berlin/Deneuve.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.

    Pavane pour une infante defunte

    Ensemble: Wolfgang Schulz, Margit-Anna Suss.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Singers
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.