Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Harry Hill in Professor Branestawm Returns

Comedy adventure. Professor Branestawm has a rival. He's not the only inventor in town. Can he beat the rascally Professor Algebrain in an inventing competition?

When Lady Pagwell dies, leaving a substantial sum to fund local inventing, it could mean the end of Professor Branestawm's money troubles. But scheming local councillor Harold Haggerstone will stop at nothing to thwart Branestawm and insists that Pagwell holds an inventing competition to decide who gets the money.

Haggerstone tries to hire his own rival inventor. Professor Mary Oxford, from Cambridge, fails to impress with a nuclear-powered paperweight. The Invisibaliser presented by Professor Awfulshirt causes havoc (and much invisibleness). But when Professor Algebrain, from an unspecified European country, turns up, Haggerstone thinks he's on to a winner.

Branestawm, meanwhile, is having problems of his own. Not only is he struggling to come up with an invention that will really knocks the judges' socks off, he's upset his faithful young assistant, Connie. He's so wrapped up in his work that he's been neglecting her, and she's torn between helping him and working with the seemingly charming and attentive Professor Algebrain.

1 hour

Music Played

Add music you love and enjoy it with My Tracks

Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


Role Contributor
Professor Branestawm Harry Hill
Connie Madeline Holliday
Colonel Dedshott Simon Day
Mrs Flittersnoop Vicki Pepperdine
Aggie Sophie Thompson
Lady Pagwell Diana Rigg
Professor Algebrain Steve Pemberton
PC Peasey Jason Forbes
Radio Producer Maya Sondhi
Harold Haggerstone David Mitchell
Miss Silt Doreen Ingleton
The Mayor Charlie Higson
The Vicar Adrian Scarborough
Mary Oxford Rosie Cavaliero
Professor Awfulshirt Matt Berry
Radio Announcer Justin Edwards
Miss Pagwell Alexa Morden
Maisie Lily May Palmer
Author Norman Hunter
Writer Charlie Higson
Executive Producer Ben Farrell
Producer Rosemary McGowan
Director Sandy Johnson