Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

London Symphony Orchestra - Beethoven, Strauss

Live from the Barbican, Nikolaj Znaider conducts the LSO. Beethoven: Symphony No 5. Strauss: Tod und Verklarung; Closing scene from Capriccio (with Anne Schwanewilms: soprano).

Live from the Barbican Hall, London
Presented by Martin Handley

The London Symphony Orchestra and conductor Nikolaj Znaider perform Beethoven's Fifth Symphony and works by Richard Strauss, including the closing scene from Capriccio, with soprano Anne Schwanewilms.

Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor

8.00 Interval

Strauss: Tod und Verklärung
Strauss: Closing scene from Capriccio

Anne Schwanewilms (soprano)
London Symphony Orchestra
conductor Nikolaj Znaider

The violinist and conductor Nikolaj Znaider returns to the LSO to continue his exploration of Strauss from last season. The second half opens with Strauss's tone poem Death and Transfiguration, where a dying man sees his life pass before him, ending in his death and redemption. Strauss described Capriccio, his last opera, as his "testament". Anne Schwanewilms sings the closing scene where the Countess Madeleine, unable to choose between two lovers, sings of the inseparability of words and music.

Znaider describes studying the Beethoven symphonies as one of the key moments in his decision to take up conducting, and so he has chosen to begin the concert with one of Beethoven's most frequently performed works, the Fifth Symphony.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No.5 in C Minor, Op.67

    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Nikolaj Znaider.
  • Ludwig Thuille

    Piano quintet in E flat, Op.20: 2nd movement (Adagio assai sostenuto)

    Performer: Gianluca Luisi. Ensemble: Gigli Quartet.
    • NAXOS.
  • Thuille


  • Richard Strauss

    Tod und Varklarung, Op. 24

    Orchestra: New York Philharmonic. Conductor: Giuseppe Sinopoli.
  • Richard Strauss

    Capriccio - Final Scene

  • Borodin

    2nd String Quartet


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.