Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Barbican Season 2015-16: Mozart, Schoenberg, Strauss

Live from the Barbican, the BBC Symphony Orchestra with chief conductor Sakari Oramo in music from Vienna by Mozart and Schoenberg, plus Richard Strauss's Rosenkavalier Suite No 1.

Live from the Barbican. The BBC Symphony Orchestra with Chief Conductor Sakari Oramo in music from Vienna by Mozart, Schoenberg & Richard Strauss - his Rosenkavalier Suite No 1.

Presented by Martin Handley

Mozart: Serenade in B flat major, K366, 'Gran Partita'

8.25 Interval music chosen by Sakari Oramo including Schoenberg's 5 Piano Pieces, Op 23 and Mozart's Masonic Funeral Music.

Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier - Suite No. 1

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor)

Revel in the virtuosity of the BBC Symphony Orchestra soloists in this sumptuous Viennese programme.
Opening with Mozart's most sublime wind serenade, the Gran Partita, and ending with the wistful sophistication of Strauss's first suite from Der Rosenkavalier, the heart of the evening belongs to the strings for a performance of Schoenberg's Verklärte Nacht. In his setting of Dehmel's passionate love story, Schoenberg's saturated, chromatic harmonies reached an expressive, even operatic, intensity.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Serenade in B flat major K.361 (Gran Partita)

  • Arnold Schoenberg

    5 Klavierstucke (Five piano Pieces) Op 23

    Performer: Glenn Gould.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Maurerische Trauermusik (Masonic Funeral Music) K. 477

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Claudio Abbado.
  • Arnold Schoenberg

    Verklarte Nacht Op.4 (arr. String Orchestra)

  • Richard Strauss

    Der Rosenkavalier Suite


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.