Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Highlights of the Martha Argerich Project

Highlights from the Martha Argerich Project at the Lugano Festival, including music by Bartok, Prokofiev and Mozart.

The "Martha Argerich Project", one of the main events of the Lugano Festival, is now in its 14th year. Argerich gathers together a range of musicians, some well-established and others at the beginning of their careers, who play together, sharing the stage. Concerts are held in churches, theatres and auditoria around the city, and the repertoire is very varied. Today's concert includes Bartók's Romanian Folk Dances, played by Argerich herself with violinist Geza Hosszu-Legocky.

Bartók: Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 56
Geza Hosszu-Legocky, violin
Martha Argerich, piano

Prokofiev, arr. Borisovsky
Excerpts from 'Romeo and Juliet, op. 54', arr. for viola and piano
Lyda Chen, viola
Cristina Marton, piano

Mozart: Violin Sonata No. 32 in B flat, K. 454
Dora Schwarzberg, violin
Walter Delahunt, piano.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Béla Bartók

    Romanian folk dances (Sz.56), arr. Szekely for violin and piano

    Performer: Géza Hosszu-Legocky. Performer: Martha Argerich.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Romeo and Juliet - ballet Op.64 (selection) arr. Borisovsky for violin & piano

    Performer: Lyda Chen. Performer: Cristina Marton.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sonata in B flat major K.454 for violin and keyboard

    Performer: Dora Schwarzberg. Performer: Walter Delahunt.
  • Robert Schumann

    Adagio and allegro in A flat major Op.70 for cello and piano

    Performer: Gautier Capuçon. Performer: Nicholas Angelich.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    3 Mazurkas for piano (Op.59); no.3 in F sharp minor

    Performer: Martha Argerich.
    • Argerich Plays Chopin.
    • Deutsche Grammaphon.
    • 12.