Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Highlights of the Martha Argerich Project

Highlights from the Martha Argerich Project at the Lugano Festival, including music by Berg, Schubert and Grieg.

The "Martha Argerich Project", one of the main events of the Lugano Festival, is now in its 14th year. Argerich gathers together a range of musicians, some well-established and others at the beginning of their careers, who play together, sharing the stage. Concerts are held in churches, theatres and auditoria around the city, and the repertoire is very varied. Today's programme includes Schubert's Eight Variations in A flat, D813, for piano four hands, played by Argerich herself with Alexander Mogilevsky.

Berg: Piano Sonata, Op. 1
Stephen Kovacevich, piano

Schubert: Eight Variations in A flat, D813, for piano four hands
Alexander Mogilevsky and Martha Argerich, piano

Grieg: Violin Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45
Geza Hosszu-Legocky, violin
Karin Lechner, piano.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Alban Berg

    Sonata Op.1 for piano

    Performer: Stephen Kovacevich.
  • Franz Schubert

    8 Variations on an original theme in A flat major D.813 for piano duet

    Performer: Alexander Mogilevsky. Performer: Martha Argerich.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Sonata no. 3 in C minor Op.45 for violin and piano

    Performer: G├ęza Hosszu-Legocky. Performer: Karin Lechner.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Habanera (Rapsodie espagnole)

    Performer: Sergio Tiempo. Performer: Karin Lechner.
    • Martha Argerich & Friends Live from the Lugano Festival 2009.
    • EMI.
    • 607367-2.