Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Arvo Part and Dobrinka Tabakova

Ivan Hewett features music by Arvo Pärt and Dobrinka Tabakova including the UK premiere of her Cello Concerto.

Dobrinka Tabakova: Centuries of Meditations
Arvo Pärt: Adam's Lament
Dobrinka Tabakova: Concerto for Cello and Strings (UK premiere)
Arvo Pärt: Stabat Mater

Tallinn Chamber Orchestra with the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber
Choir conducted by Kristian Järvi
soloists: Kristina Blaumane (cello) and Ceri Wynne Jones (harp).

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Sat 19 Sep 2015 22:00

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007)

A user-friendly guide to a masterpiece of music’s post-War avant-garde.

Sound of the Week

Sound of the Week

Composers reveal the sounds that have captured their imaginations and inspired new music.

Pioneering Sound

Pioneering Sound

Listen to Radio 3 broadcasts which break technological boundaries in sound.