Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Music performed by Rudolf Buchbinder at the 2015 Edinburgh International Festival. Beethoven: Piano Sonata in G minor, Op 49 No 1; Piano Sonata in B flat, Op 106 (Hammerklavier).

A week of Beethoven Piano Sonatas performed by the celebrated Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder concludes with the Sonata in B flat, Op 106, the 'Hammerklavier'. It was part of a nine-concert series in which Buchbinder performed all 32 of the composer's piano sonatas at last year's Edinburgh International Festival. Today's programme, which is introduced by Jamie MacDougall, also features the Sonata in G minor, Op 49 No 1.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Sonata no. 29 in B flat major Op.106 'Hammerklavier'

    Performer: Rudolf Buchbinder.
  • Johann Strauss II

    Frühlingsstimmen [Voices of Spring]

    Transcriber: Alfred Grünfeld. Performer: Rudolf Buchbinder.
    • Johann Strauss: Transcriptions for Piano: Rudolf Buchbinder.
    • Elatus.
  • Johann Baptist Georg Neruda

    Concerto for horn/trumpet and strings in E flat major, 2nd movement; Largo

    Performer: Tine Thing Helseth. Orchestra: Det Norske Kammerorkester.
    • Haydn, Albinoni, Neruda, Hummel: Tine Thing Helseth, NCO.
    • Simax.