Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 66 (part 1): Beethoven, Schoenberg and Shostakovich

Episode 1 of 2

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Beethoven: Fidelio Overture. Schoenberg: Piano Concerto (soloist: Mitsuko Uchida).

Beethoven, Schoenberg and Shostakovich, with Mitsuko Uchida, London Philharmonic Orchestra and Vladimir Jurowski, live at the BBC Proms.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London
Presented by Donald Macleod

Beethoven: Fidelio - Overture
Schoenberg: Piano Concerto

8.10 pm INTERVAL

8.30 pm
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8 in C minor

Mitsuko Uchida (piano)
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski (conductor)

Mitsuko Uchida makes a welcome return to the Proms for Schoenberg's rarely heard Piano Concerto. It's a work whose 12-tone abstraction is tempered by intriguing autobiographical suggestions - 'Life was so easy', 'Suddenly hatred broke out' - scribbled on the original manuscript. Autobiography is also at the fore in Shostakovich's Eighth Symphony. Composed in 1943, at a particularly dark moment for Russia in the war, the work is a fragile statement of hope that the composer himself summarised as: 'All that is dark and oppressive will disappear; all that is beautiful will triumph.'.

40 minutes

Last on

Fri 4 Sep 2015 19:30

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Fidelio - Overture

    Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski.
  • Schoenberg

    Piano Concerto

    Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski. Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra.


The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.