Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Esther Yoo, Lise Berthaud

Clemency Burton-Hill presents. Esther Yoo (violin) with Robert Koenig (piano) in Grieg's Violin Sonata in C minor, Op 45. Lise Berthaud (viola) features in Bruch's Double Concerto.

Clemency Burton-Hill showcases two string players in the current line-up of NGAs. Having recently celebrated her 21st birthday in a concert with the Philharmonia Orchestra, Esther Yoo is heard here in the third of Grieg's violin sonatas. Also today, French viola player Lise Berthaud is one of the soloists in Bruch's seldom heard Double Concerto.

Grieg: Violin Sonata in C minor, Op 45
Esther Yoo (violin), Robert Koenig (piano)

Bruch: Concerto in E minor for clarinet and viola, Op 88
Lise Berthaud (viola), Robert Plane (clarinet),
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Thomas Sondergard (conductor).

45 minutes

Music Played

  • Edvard Grieg

    Violin Sonata in C minor op.45

    Performer: Esther Yoo. Performer: Robert Koenig.
  • Max Bruch

    Concerto in E minor op.88 for clarinet, viola and orchestra

    Performer: Robert Plane. Performer: Lise Berthaud.


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.