Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Wigmore Hall Mondays: Jean-Guihen Queyras

Live from Wigmore Hall in London, a cello recital by Jean-Guihen Queyras. Britten: Cello Suite No 1, Op 72. Bach: Cello Suite No 6 in D, BWV1012.

Jean-Guihen Queyras plays cello Suites by Britten and Bach

Britten: Cello Suite No.1, Op.72
Bach: Cello Suite No.6 in D major, BWV 1012

Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

First performed fifty years ago by Mstislav Rostropovich at the Aldeburgh Festival, the nine continuous sections of Britten's First Cello Suite make massive technical and emotional demands on the soloist.
Jean-Guihen Queyras journeys through the work before turning to the last of Bach's Cello Suites, which Rostropovich aptly described as 'a symphony for cello'.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Benjamin Britten

    Suite No. 1 Op.72 For Cello Solo

    Performer: Jean‐Guihen Queyras.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Suite No. 6 In D Major Bwv.1012 For Cello Solo

    Performer: Jean‐Guihen Queyras.
  • Bach

    Cello Suite No. 6 in D major BWV1012