Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Philharmonia Orchestra - Bartok, Mozart, Beethoven

From the Royal Festival Hall, Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Christoph von Dohnanyi. Bartok: Divertimento. Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante, K364. Beethoven: Symphony No 7 in A.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall.

In the Philharmonia Orchestra's closing concert of the current season, Christoph von Dohnanyi, their Honorary Conductor for Life, conducts music by Bartok, Mozart and Beethoven.

Bartok: Divertimento for string orchestra
Mozart: Sinfonia concertante in E flat for violin and viola, K364

8.30 pm Interval - chamber music performed by tonight's soloists, Arabella Steinbacher and Lawrence Power

8.50 pm Part Two
Beethoven: Symphony No.7 in A

Arabella Steinbacher (violin)
Lawrence Power (viola)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Conducted by Christoph von Dohnanyi

Now in his 86th year, Christoph von Dohnanyi is showing no signs of slowing down. This season he has conducted major orchestras across Europe and North America - he is still celebrated for his 20 years with the Cleveland Orchestra, where he is now their Music Director Laureate, and his relationship with the Philharmonia stretches back to 1994. Tonght's soloists are somewhat of a different generation - Arabella Steinbacher and Lawrence Power are both in their thirties, and are both widely acclaimed as chamber musicians as well as concerto soloists.

Followed by highlights from the Park Lane Group's memorial concert for John McCabe, given earlier this month.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Béla Bartók

    Divertimento for String Orchestra Sz.113

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Christoph von Dohnányi.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola & Orchestra in E flat major, K364

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Christoph von Dohnányi.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Sonata for Violin and Piano no.2 in A Op.100 - final movement

    Performer: Robert Kulek. Performer: Arabella Steinbacher.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Sonata in E flat major for viola and piano Op.120 No.2 - first movement

    Performer: Lawrence Power. Performer: Simon Crawford‐Phillips.
  • John McCabe

    Sonata Haec Dies

    Performer: simon desbruslais. Performer: Clare Hammond.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.