Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Barber, Gershwin, Copland

From Salford, BBC Philharmonic under Michael Francis. Barber: Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance. Gershwin: Piano Concerto (soloist: Freddy Kempf). Copland: Symphony No 3.

The BBC Philharmonic, conducted by Michael Francis, performs an all-American programme. They are joined by pianist Freddy Kempf.

Live from MediaCityUK, Salford
Presented by Stuart Flinders

Barber: Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance
Gershwin: Piano Concerto

Music Interval

Copland: Symphony No.3

Freddy Kempf (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Michael Francis (conductor)

With music derived from Barber's first work for the theatre, the programme opens with Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance, an unsettling journey from an uneasy tenderness to full-blown anguish. Copland's Third Symphony, which re-visits, in its affirmatory Finale, his "Fanfare for the Common Man" ends the programme. Between these two pieces Freddy Kempf joins the orchestra for a work full of American spirit, Gershwin's Piano Concerto.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Barber

    Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance

  • George Gershwin

    Piano Concerto

    Performer: Freddy Kempf.
  • Aaron Copland

    Las Agachadas

  • Aaron Copland

    Symphony No.3


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.