Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Christina McMaster, Joanna MacGregor

Sean Rafferty presents a selection of music and guests from the arts world, including pianists Christina McMaster and Joanna MacGregor.

Sean Rafferty presents a selection of music and guests from the arts world including bold young pianist Christina McMaster, playing live in the studio ahead of her concert at St John's Smith Square. More live music from pianist Joanna MacGregor and students from the Royal Academy of Music as they look forward to their annual piano festival.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Concerto for keyboard and strings in D minor BWV 1052 (Allegro)

    Performer: Joanna MacGregor. Orchestra: Britten Sinfonia.
    • WCJ SoundCircus.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sonata in D major K.381 for piano duet (Allegro)

  • Richard Bullen

    Scenes from a deserted jazz club

    Performer: Sami Tammilehto. Performer: Jay Phelps. Performer: Marek Lewandowski. Performer: Christian McMaster.
    • Pinks and Blues.
  • James Horner

    The Portrait

    • Sony Classical.
  • Chris Bullen

    Skylark Machine

  • Claude Debussy

    Petite suite for piano duet (Minuet and Ballet)

  • James Horner

    The Portrait

    • Sony Classical.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230

    Choir: Collegium Vocale Gent. Choir: La Chapelle Royale. Orchestra: La Chapelle Royale. Director: Philippe Herreweghe.
    • J.S. Bach: Motets 225-230: Collegium Vocale Gent/Herreweghe.
    • Harmonia Mundi.
    • 5.
  • Domenico Scarlatti

    Sonata for Keyboard in D minor, K18

  • Erik Satie

    Gnossienne No 4

    Performer: Emily Burridge. Performer: BJ Cole.
  • John Cage

    A room from she is asleep

  • Gubaidulina

    The Woodpecker

  • Sir Harrison Birtwistle

    Ookooing Bird

    Performer: Richard Shaw.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op 155 (Andantino)

    Performer: Emma Johnson. Ensemble: Michelangelo Quartet.
    • Nimbus.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Symphony No 9 in E minor, Op 95, 'From the New World' (3rd mvt)

    Orchestra: Seattle Symphony. Conductor: Ludovic Morlot.
    • Seattle Symphony Media.
  • Joseph Haydn

    String Quartet, Op 76 No 1 (Adagio sostenuto)

  • Adès

    Four Quarters (Days)

  • Franz Schubert

    String Quartet No 14 in D minor 'Death and the Maiden' (Scherzo and trio)

  • Franz Liszt

    Transcendental Study No 5 in B flat major, 'Feux-follets'

    Performer: Nikolai Lugansky.
    • Liszt: Nikolai Lugansky.
    • Naive.
    • 9.
  • Franz Liszt

    Etudes d'execution transcendante S.139


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios