Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 3

Live from MediaCityUK in Salford, Michael Francis conducts the BBC Philharmonic in Respighi's Ancient Airs and Dances (Set 3) and Part's Lamentate. Plus Beethoven's Symphony No 8.

Live from Media City, Salford, the BBC Philharmonic performs Respighi's Ancient Airs and Dances and Arvo Pärt's homage to Anish Kapoor and his sculpture 'Marsyas', entitled 'Lamentate', with BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist pianist Pavel Kolesnikov. Plus Beethoven's Eighth Symphony, the last piece he wrote before his late 'great' period, with an air of relaxation - the calm before the storm.

LIVE from Media City, Salford

BBC Philharmonic
Pavel Kolesnikov, piano
Michael Francis, conductor

Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances, Set 3

Arvo Pärt: Lamentate

Beethoven: Symphony No.8 in F major.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Ottorino Respighi

    Ancient Airs and Dances - Suite no.3

  • Arvo Pärt


  • Edward Elgar

    Salut d'amour

    Music Arranger: Roger Turner. Performer: Tasmin Little. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Sir Andrew Davis.
    • The Lark Ascending.
    • Chandos.
    • 8.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic