Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

City of London Sinfonia - Haydn, Mozart, JC Bach, Handel

From St Leonard's, Shoreditch, Polyphony and the City of London Sinfonia. Haydn: Symphony No 101. JC Bach: Sinfonia Concertante. Mozart: Symphony No 4. Handel: Dettingen Te Deum.

Music of Georgian London by Haydn, Mozart, JC Bach and Handel. In the closing concert of the Spitalfields Summer Festival, City of London Sinfonia with choir Polyphony perform four magnificent works from four composers who came to the city to find fame and fortune.

Georgian London draws many parallels to the contemporary city we know today, not least with its reputation as a hub of global commerce and culture.

Live from St. Leonard's, Shoreditch
Presented by Fiona Talkington

Haydn: Symphony No.101 in D, 'The Clock'
JC Bach: Sinfonia Concertante

at approx. 8.15 Interval Music:
Mozart's Piano Sonata in A minor K 310
Maria Joao Pires (piano)

Mozart: Symphony No.4 in D, K19
Handel: Dettingen Te Deum

Ashley Riches, baritone
City of London Sinfonia
Stephen Layton, conductor

The concert explores the music of Georgian London through works by Mozart and JC Bach alongside Haydn's famous 'Clock' Symphony, written on his second visit to the city, and Handel's Te Deum, commissioned when he was a composer of the Chapel Royal in celebration of the victory of the British army at the Battle of Dettingen.

2 hours, 30 minutes


Music Played

  • Joseph Haydn

    Symphony No.101 ‘The Clock’

    Orchestra: City of London Sinfonia. Conductor: Stephen Layton.
  • J. C. Bach

    Sinfonia Concertante in E flat major

    Orchestra: City of London Sinfonia. Conductor: Stephen Layton.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Dettingen Te Deum

    Performer: Ashley Riches. Choir: New York Polyphony.
  • Béla Bartók


    Performer: James Ehnes (violin), Michael Collins (clarinet), Andrew Armstrong (piano).


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.