Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

London Symphony Orchestra - Previn, Rachmaninov

Live from the Barbican, Andre Previn conducts the LSO, with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter playing the concerto he wrote for her in 2001. Plus Rachmaninov's Symphony No 2.

Live from the Barbican Hall
Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Andre Previn returns to the LSO as conductor and composer. Anne-Sophie Mutter performs the violin concerto for which she is the dedicatee, and this is paired with Rachmaninov's richly melodic second symphony.

Previn: Violin Concerto 'Anne Sophie'

Interval - Including interviews with LSO musicians who have a long standing relationship with Andre Previn, and some of Previn's recordings.

Rachmaninov: Symphony No 2

Anne-Sophie Mutter (violin)
London Symphony Orchestra
conductor André Previn

Composer, conductor, and pianist extraordinaire, André Previn is a hugely versatile musician. He returns to the LSO, where he was Principal Conductor for over a decade, to partner his former wife, the German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, in a concerto written for her in the early years of their artistic and personal collaboration.
Rachmaninov's opulently lyrical Second Symphony completes the programme.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • André Previn

    Violin Concerto 'Anne Sophie'

  • Claude Debussy

    Fetes (Trois Nocturnes)

    Conductor: André Previn. Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra.
    • EMI.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Symphony No. 2


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.