Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 3

Penny Gore presents music from the BBC Concert Orchestra. Arnell: Overture (The New Age). Vaughan Williams: Bucolic Suite. Butterworth: Fantasia. Finzi: Cello Concerto in A minor.

Penny Gore presents a concert given by the BBC Concert Orchestra as part of this year's English Music Festival in the Abbey of Dorchester-on-Thames. The concert includs Butterworth's Fantasia, newly completed by conductor Martin Yates, and Finzi's lyrical Cello Concerto performed by Raphael Wallfisch.

Arnell Overture The New Age, Op.2
Vaughan Williams Bucolic Suite

Butterworth Fantasia for orchestra

Finzi Cello Concerto in A minor, Op.40
Raphael Wallfisch (cello)
BBC Concert Orchestra
Martin Yates (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Martin Bussey

    Blue Remembered Hills: Into My Heart

    Performer: Iain Burnside. Performer: Marcus Farnsworth.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    Vaughan Williams Bucolic Suite

    Orchestra: BBC Concert Orchestra. Conductor: Martin Yates.
  • George Butterworth

    Butterworth/Yates Fantasia

    Orchestra: BBC Concert Orchestra. Conductor: Martin Yates.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Concert Orchestra