Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Sibelius, Rachmaninov, Foulds, Nielsen

From the Barbican, BBC Symphony Orchestra/Sakari Oramo. Sibelius: Tapiola. Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 4 (with Denis Kozhukhin). Foulds: April-England. Nielsen: Symphony No 6.

Live from the Barbican

Presented by Fiona Talkington

Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra conclude their acclaimed Nielsen Symphonies cycle with the enigmatic Sixth. Plus Rachmaninov's Fourth Piano Concerto with Denis Kozhukhin. We hear an evocation of forest spirits in Sibelius's Tapiola and John Foulds's paean to the raw vitality of spring.

Sibelius: Tapiola
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 4

c. 8.25pm Interval: ***

Foulds: April - England
Nielsen: Symphony No. 6 'Sinfonia semplice'

Denis Kozhukhin (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor)

In his Sixth Symphony Nielsen set out to express the 'completely idyllic', but the idyll is infiltrated by irony, violence and doubt as the composer's health failed.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Sibelius


  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Piano Concerto No 4

  • Foulds

    April – England Op 48/1

  • Nielsen

    Symphony No 6


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


  • Sat 23 May 2015 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.