Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Rachel Podger

Baroque violinist Rachel Podger performs music by Tartini, Biber, Roman and Matteis in a concert given at St Mary's Church, Hay-on-Wye, as part of the 2015 Hay Festival.

Clemency Burton-Hill presents a concert of music for the Baroque violin performed by Rachel Podger, first broadcast live from St Mary's Church, Hay-on-Wye, during the 2015 Hay Festival. Included in the concert are two sonatas by Tartini, along with Biber's Passacaglia, and music by Nicola Matteis and 'the Swedish Virtuoso' Johan Helmich Roman.

Rachel Podger (violin)

Giuseppe Tartini: Sonata No 13 in B minor, B:h1
Johan Helmich Roman: Assaggio for violin solo, BeRI 314
Nicola Matteis: Part II from Other Ayrs, Preludes, Allmands, Sarabands, Courantes, Gigues, Divisions and Double Compositions etc
Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber: Passacaglia
Giuseppe Tartini: Sonata in A minor, B:a3

Produced by Luke Whitlock.

58 minutes

Last on

Tue 3 May 2016 13:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert

Music Played

  • Giuseppe Tartini

    Sonata in B min no. 13

    Performer: Rachel Podger.
  • Johan Helmich Roman

    Assaggio for violin solo

    Performer: Rachel Podger.
  • Mattheis

    Ayrs for the violin Part 2

    Performer: Rachel Podger.
  • Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber


    Performer: Rachel Podger.
  • Giuseppe Tartini

    Sonata in A min

    Performer: Rachel Podger.