Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Rob Cowan

As well as Bach's Brandenburg Concerto no 3, Rob Cowan explores single-movement concertos, including a newly released recording of Pierre Fournier in Saint-Saëns's Cello Concerto and Mario Marzi's version of Glazunov's Saxophone Concerto.

2 hours, 57 minutes

Last on

Sun 24 May 2015 09:00

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Brandenberg Concerto No 3 in G Major BWV 1048

    Performer: Sigiswald Kuijken. Conductor: Gustav Leonhardt.
    • Sony.
  • Franz Schubert

    Rosamunde: Romance

    Singer: Aafje Heynis. Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Conductor: Bernard Haitink.
    • Philips.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Violin Sonata (Op. Posth)

    Performer: Andrey Baranov. Performer: Jura Margulis.
    • MArtha Argerich and Friends: Live from Lugano 2013.
    • Warner Classics.
    • 001.
  • Pau Casals

    Song of the Birds

    Performer: Pierre Fournier. Orchestra: Lucerne Festival Strings. Conductor: Matthias Bamert.
    • Pierre Fournier plays Dvorak, Saint-Saens, Casals, etc..
    • Audite.
    • 008.
  • Edward MacDowell

    Suite for Large Orchestra, Op. 42

    Orchestra: Eastman-Rochester Orchestra. Conductor: Howard Hanson.
    • Howard Hanson conducting the Eastman-Rochester Orchestra.
    • Mercury.
    • 005.
  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky

    Piano Concerto No. 3 in E flat major Op. 75

    Performer: Gary Graffman. Orchestra: The Philadelphia Orchestra. Conductor: Eugene Ormandy.
    • Sony.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Rondo in C Major K.373

    Performer: Frank Peter Zimmermann. Orchestra: Chamber Orchestra of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Radoslaw Szulc.
    • Hanssler Classic.
  • Alexander Glazunov

    Concerto in E for Saxophone and Strings Op. 109

    Performer: Mario Marzi. Orchestra: Giuseppe Verdi Symphony Orchestra, Milan. Conductor: Hansjörg Schellenberger.
    • The Art of Saxophone.
    • Arts.
    • 001.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Concerto in A minor for Cello and Orchestra Op.33

    Performer: Pierre Fournier. Conductor: Jean Martinon. Orchestra: Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France.
    • Pierre Fournier plays Dvorak, Saint-Saens, Casals, etc..
    • Audite.
    • 004.
  • Christian Ritter

    O amantissime sponse Jesu

    Singer: Aafje Heynis. Orchestra: Nederlands Kamerorkest. Conductor: Szymon Goldberg.
    • Netherlands Chamber Orchestra: The Philips Recordings.
    • Retrospective.
    • 010.
  • Ned Rorem

    Spring Music (early 1990s)

    Ensemble: Beaux Arts Trio.
    • Beaux Arts Trio - A Celebration 1955 - 1995.
    • Philips.
    • 001.
  • Jean Sibelius

    Song of the Earth

    Orchestra: Lahti Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Osmo Vänskä. Choir: Dominate Choir.
    • Song Of The Earth: Cantatas.
    • Bis.


Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

In Folk, Sarah Walker finds distinctive voices and a bridge twixt tradition and modernity

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Sarah Walker introduces her light music choices – a weekly treat on Sunday Morning.

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Sarah Walker invites you on the personal jazz journey she shares in Sunday Morning on R3.