Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Tchaikovsky, Saint-Saens, Brahms

From Huddersfield Town Hall, BBC Philharmonic under Andrew Gourlay. Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings. Saint-Saens: Cello Concerto No 1 (with Guy Johnston). Brahms: Symphony No 2.

Live from Huddersfield Town Hall

Presented by Adam Tomlinson

Tchaikovsky: Serenade for strings
Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No.1

8.20 Music Interval

Brahms: Symphony No.2

Guy Johnston (cello)
BBC Philharmonic
Andrew Gourlay (conductor)

Live from the comfortable Victorian splendour of Huddersfield Town Hall, the BBC Philharmonic, with conductor Andrew Gourlay, open and close this evening's concert with music that was being written in Russia and Austria at the same time as workers were building this beautiful and iconic Town Hall in the north of England. Tchaikovsky's lush and tuneful Serenade for Strings, a piece he said he loved and which had its first public performance in St Petersburg in the same month the concert hall we play in tonight was opened, starts the programme, and former BBC Young Musician winner Guy Johnston joins the orchestra for Saint-Saëns's arresting First Cello Concerto. Brahms's sunniest symphony, his second, brings the concert to an affirmative conclusion.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Serenade for Strings

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Cello Concerto No. 1

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Andrew Gourlay.
  • (Interval) Henry Smart

    Finale Fugato from Air with Variations and Finale Fugato

  • (Interval) Handel

    Hallelujah Chorus

  • (Interval) Montague Phillips

    Empire March

  • Georg Philipp Telemann

    Paris Quartet No 6 in E Minor

    Ensemble: Florilegium Ensemble.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Philharmonic


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.