Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Philharmonia Orchestra - Rimsky-Korsakov, Rachmaninov, Dvorak

The Philharmonia Orchestra under Yuri Temirkanov. Rimsky-Korsakov: Overture (The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh). Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 1. Dvorak: Symphony No 8.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall

The Philharmonia plays a prelude by Rimsky-Korsakov, Rachmaninov's First Piano concerto with Daniil Trifonov as soloist, and Dvorak's 8th Symphony. Yuri Temirkanov conducts.

Rimsky-Korsakov: Overture, The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 1

8.15: Interval

Dvorák: Symphony No. 8 in G (Op. 88)

Daniil Trifonov, piano
Yuri Temirkanov, conductor

Rachmaninov's gripping First Concerto was written while he was still a student at the Moscow Conservatory - not surprisingly, Tchaikovsky considered him Russia's greatest rising talent. Composed with amazing fluency in just a month, Dvorak submitted his enchanting Eighth Symphony to Cambridge University as a 'thank-you' for an honorary doctorate.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Piano Concerto No. 1

  • Alexander Scriabin

    Sonata Fantasy in G # minor, Op. 19

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Symphony no.8 in G major, Op. 88


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.