Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

CBSO - Elgar, Bridge, Tippett

From Symphony Hall in Birmingham, CBSO under Edward Gardner. Elgar: Cockaigne Overture; Cello Concerto (with Alban Gerhardt). Bridge: Lament for Strings. Tippett: Symphony No 2.

The CBSO and Edward Gardner are joined by cellist Alban Gerhardt, live from Symphony Hall Birmingham, for a programme of English music by Elgar, Bridge and Tippett. As well as popular pieces by Elgar, their programme features Frank Bridge's Lament for Strings - written a hundred years ago in memory of the victims of the sinking of the Lusitania - and Michael Tippett's inspired 2nd Symphony of 1957, which was prompted by the music of Vivaldi. Presented by Adam Tomlinson.

Elgar: Overture: Cockaigne
Elgar: Cello Concerto
(Cello soloist: Alban Gerhardt)


Bridge: Lament for strings
Tippett: Symphony No.2

CBSO conducted by Edward Gardner.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Edward Elgar


  • Cello Concerto


    Performer: Alban Gerhardt.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Prelude from 6th cello suite

  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Allegro Appassionata 3

    Performer: Natalie Clein.
  • Vivaldi

    Cello concerto

  • Bridge


  • Tippett

    Symphony No.2


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.