Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Czech Philharmonic - Smetana, Mendelssohn, Vaughan Williams, Dvorak

Jiri Belohlavek conducts the Czech Philharmonic. Smetana: The Bartered Bride (excerpts). Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto. Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending. Dvorak: Symphony No 7.

Live from the Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham

Presented by Adam Tomlinson

Jirí Belohlávek conducts the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Smetana & Dvorák plus Mendelssohn & Vaughan Williams with violinist Chloë Hanslip.

Smetana: Overture, Furiant and Skocná from "The Bartered Bride"
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64

8.40 - Interval

Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Dvorák : Symphony No.7 in D minor, Op.70

Smetana's propulsive overture to his breakthrough comic opera, The Bartered Bride, launches this gala concert by the world renowned Czech Philharmonic. They're joined by British violinist, Chloë Hanslip for Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto, whose blend of soaring lyricism and virtuosity remains unsurpassed. Chloë evokes an altogether different mood in Vaughan Williams's rhapsodic The Lark Ascending. Like Vaughan Williams, Dvorák drew deeply on his native folk music and his 7th Symphony took this to new heights, its smouldering opening catching fire in the most intense and dramatic of all his symphonic writing.

Chloë Hanslip (violin)
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Jirí Belohlávek (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.