Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC NOW Live from BBC Hoddinott Hall in Cardiff

Live from BBC Hoddinott Hall in Cardiff, Nicola Heywood Thomas presents the BBC NOW playing music by Rebel, Ravel, Milhaud, Sibelius and Ginastera. Plus Sibelius's Symphony No 7.

Nicola Heyward Thomas presents the BBC National Orchestra of Wales live from Hoddinott Hall in Cardiff for an afternoon of music exploring three different view points on the creation of the earth: Ginastera's ballet based on Mayan beliefs; Milhaud's music exploring African folk mythology; and Rebel's depiction of the four elements of earth, wind, fire and water. Then back to London where Katie Derham introduces Sibelius' Symphony no.7 as part of Afternoon on 3's Nordic and Baltic season

2pm LIVE from Cardiff
Presented by Nicola Heyward Thomas

Rebel: Les Elémens - symphonie nouvelle: Le Chaos
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Zhang Zuo (piano)
Milhaud: La Creation du monde - ballet Op.81a
Sibelius: Luonnotar Op.70
Gweneth-Ann Jeffers (soprano)
Ginastera: Popol Vuh Op.44
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Stefan Asbury (conductor)

c.4pm presented by Katie Derham

Sibelius: Symphony no. 7 in C major Op.105
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Thomas Sondergard (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Rebel

    Les Elemens - "Chaos'

  • Maurice Ravel

    Piano Concerto in G major

  • Darius Milhaud

    La Creation du Monde

  • Aaron Copland

    Clarinet Concerto

  • Sibelius


  • Alberto Ginastera

    Popol Vuh

  • Jean [1865-1957] Sibelius

    Symphony no. 7 (Op. 105) in C major

    Orchestra: BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Conductor: Thomas Sondergard.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC National Orchestra of Wales


  • Tue 21 Apr 2015 14:00