Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

La Serenissima, Worbey and Farrell

Sean Rafferty presents live performances from early music group La Serenissima and comedy piano duo Worbey and Farrell.

Sean Rafferty with a lively drivetime mix of arts news, chat, live music and the best CDs.

Guests include dynamic early music ensemble La Serenissima and their director Adrian Chandler. Acclaimed for their many recordings, particularly of Vivaldi, they perform live in the In Tune studio ahead of their concert at London's Cadogan Hall this week.

Plus, live music from comedy piano duo Worbey and Farrell, gearing up for an eagerly awaited return to the Crazy Coqs club in London.

2 hours


Music Played

  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto for Violin op 8 no. 1: Primavera (Spring) 1st movement

    Orchestra: Academy of St Martin in the Fields. Director: Iona Brown.
    • PHILIPS.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto for Violin op8 no.1: Primavera (Spring) from The Four Seasons - 1st mvt

    Conductor: Iona Brown. Conductor: Academy of St Martin in the Fields.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concert for bassoon, strings & continuo in C RV 477, 3rd mvt - Allegro

    Performer: Peter Whelan. Ensemble: La Serenissima. Director: Adrian Chandler.
    • AVIE.
  • Reynaldo Hahn

    L’heure exquise from Chansons grises

    Performer: Graham Johnson. Singer: Alice Coote.
    • Hyperion.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Rondo in A K581 a

    Performer: Colin Lawson. Ensemble: Revolutionary Drawing Room Quartet.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    English folk song suite orch. Jacob: 1. Seventeen come Sunday

    Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Music Arranger: Gordon Jacob. Conductor: James Judd.
    • Vaughan Williams: Piano Concerto.
    • Naxos.
    • 10.
  • John Ireland

    Piano Concerto in E flat major , 3rd Mvt

    Performer: John Lenehan. Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: John Wilson.
    • NAXOS.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Oh had I Jubal's lyre (Joshua)

    Singer: Magdalena Kožená. Orchestra: Venice Baroque Orchestra. Conductor: Andrea Marcon.
    • 111 Years of Deutsche Grammophon.
    • Deutsche Grammaphon.
    • 10.
  • Conlon Nancarrow

    Study no. 21 for Player Piano

    Performer: Conlon Nancarrow.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Symphony No 5 in B flat major, Op 100 (2nd mvt)

    Conductor: Marin Alsop. Orchestra: São Paulo Symphony Orchestra.
    • Prokofiev: Symphony no. 5.
    • Naxos.
  • Worbey & Farrell

    Highland Cathedral

    Performer: Steven Worbey. Performer: Kevin Farrell.
  • Charlie Chaplin

    Napoli March from the Great Dictator

    Conductor: Francis Shaw. Orchestra: Bavarian Symphony Orchestra.
  • Bach

    Toccata and Fugue a la Worby and Farrell

    Performer: Steven Worby. Performer: Kevin Farrell.
  • Hildegard von Bingen

    Spiritus Sanctus vivificans vita

    Singer: Anna Sandström. Choir: Armonico Consort. Director: Christopher Monks.
    • Naked Byrd two: Armonico Consort.
    • Signum Classics.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios