Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Ravel, Prokofiev, Nielsen

Live from the Barbican, BBC Symphony Orchestra under Sakari Oramo. Ravel: La valse; Bolero. Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 3 (soloist: Alexander Toradze). Nielsen: Symphony No 5.

Live from the Barbican

Presented by Martin Handley

Sakari Oramo conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in Nielsen's thrilling 5th Symphony and Ravel's iconic Bolero. Alexander Toradze joins for Prokofiev's 3rd Piano Concerto.

Ravel: La Valse
Prokofiev: Piano concerto No. 3 in C Major

c. 8.15pm. Interval

Nielsen: Symphony No. 5
Ravel: Bolero

Alexander Toradze (Piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo (conductor)

Two works by Maurice Ravel frame this concert: his dizzying reinvention of the waltz and the hypnotic meditation on the Spanish bolero dance, beaten out by a snare drum over a vast span.That same drum plays a sinister role in Nielsen's magnificent Fifth Symphony, its obsessive battering threatening to break up the orchestra's performance in a thrilling battle. The second movement plunges us into a swinging sea of perpetual motion, where a sense of metric time is lost in the shining surge. The BBC Symphony Orchestra's revelatory and highly-praised cycle of Nielsen's Symphonies with Sakari Oramo reaches its penultimate stage tonight.

Acclaimed Georgian pianist Alexander Toradze performs Prokofiev's most elegant and ethereal piano concerto, the glowing third.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Béla Bartók

    'Assai Lento' from Sonata for Two pianos and Percussion

    Performer: Geza Frid. Performer: Luctor Ponse. Ensemble: LSO percussionists.
  • Anton Webern

    Langsamer Satz

    Ensemble: Arditti Quartet.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Symphony Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.